Customer Reviews

Pella of Mankato brings professional tips about, and installation of, finely crafted windows and doors. We’ve got the features and services you need for your window or door replacement project, but don’t take our word for it. Discover what local homeowners are saying about Pella.

4.6/5 stars based on 81 reviews
Average customer rating in the last 12 months
Showing Most Recent Reviews (last 12 months)
Ellen B.
Cedar, MN
1/09/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Had a door installed and purchased from pella. Was a return custom.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Trying to get the exterior trim replaced around the windows to match my siding at no cost to myself Was not offered the 27 custom colors to choose from. Just suggested the same color as around my front door which is in the shade. Not on the south side of my house as are the windows that were reported. Bright sun!! Shows the true difference of how off the trim is.
James J.
Buffalo, MN
1/07/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
Duality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Great crew
Ryan V.
Andover, MN
1/06/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
We felt we got a fair price for a higher quality product that other contractors weren't giving us.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Chris and Chris (our main installers) were fantastic. They were extremely professional and great to work with. Everything was explained in detail and any and all issues were handled immediately and efficiently.
Rachel M.
Saint Paul, MN
1/02/2019
Why did you choose Pella?
The price point was best for the product we received. We also liked the no-hassle approach to selling the product. Other companies wanted to do an hour and a half long demonstration, and as busy professionals, we didn't have time for that. I appreciated our sales rep's flexibility and professionalism.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Nothing out of the ordinary, but met our needs in a drama-free, easy way.
Karen B.
Minneapolis, MN
12/30/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Selecation and perceived quality for the price.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
no
Susanne & Erik C.
Saint Paul, MN
12/29/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We heard Pella is the best!
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Very friendly and knowledgeable employees.
Alison H.
Saint Paul, MN
12/28/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Pella was chosen through my town home association. It was much easier than looking for an option independently and getting approval by the association.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I appreciated all the touch points an follow up along the way including reminders via email and phone call on the installation, promptly answered questions I had and, prompt follow up on how the installation went.
Gary B.
Hopkins, MN
12/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Professional
Mary B.
Burnsville, MN
12/26/2018
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Again, leaving us with a clean window would have made a huge difference.
Diane W.
Saint Paul, MN
12/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
reputation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Service was great both for sales and installation
Hannah S.
Minneapolis, MN
12/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Family has worked for Pella in Pella, IA for more than 20 years.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Positive: The people working on the windows for our project were all fantastic. Negative: The window sashes arriving incorrect will forever be a baffling memory. Esp after I learned that the incorrect sashes are trashed...what a waste of product, time, and money.
David S.
Chaska, MN
12/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Thought Pella was a high quality national brand. Installation only took 4 weeks after order compared to 8 weeks from competitor.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Hopefully it will be an energy saver, but too soon to tell.
Kelli F.
Minneapolis, MN
12/11/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Customization options and brand recognition
John A.
Minneapolis, MN
12/11/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality windows at a more reasonable price.
Cammie E.
Saint Paul, MN
12/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Product was exactly what I was looking for
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Our installation team was pretty awesome. They weren't able to get the door around the tight corners in our house and up the stairs, so they made some kind of a hoisting mechanism to get it over a second story deck. They were not at all daunted by the challenges that they faced, kept me informed, did quick work, and the final product looks great!
Dennis G.
Saint Paul, MN
12/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Felt that Pella would be less of a gamble than other sources might have been
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Was very impressed by the installation crew ... Peter(sp.?) and Chase
Linda K.
Saint Paul, MN
12/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Price and quality.
Mike B.
Saint Paul, MN
12/04/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
In a previous house we had this type of Pella sliding glass door and loved it.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The only thing is this: We are getting a fair amount of condensation on the glass each morning. After talking to someone in the office, it was explained EXCELLENTLY so it makes sense why we're seeing that condensation and why we hadn't on our old builder stock (aka. garbage) sliding glass door. It just would have been really nice to have the installers warn us about the cause because it would seem really common - most people have crap builder stock hardware in their house and when they replace it with something decent, it's likely that they're going to have the condensation show up where it never did in the past. Instead we saw this and immediately assumed there was a problem.
Stan W.
Prior Lake, MN
12/03/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Price and look of products met my needs.
Judy G.
Farmington, MN
11/27/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputable company with exceptional product, and you could do ourselves what your competitors said would require additional work by an electrician which would have been a much higher cost and would have been too expensive for me to consider.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Not only did everyone installing seem to know exactly what they were doing and how to do it, but they all were very polite and caring of my home. The best was helping me regain some privacy in covering the windows as I had no one else to help me . You surpassed my expectations with that, and I am very grateful.
Paul J.
Circle Pines, MN
11/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Less expensive, but similar quality to other companies
Kevin & Ashley W.
Hastings, MN
11/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We knew of the quality of Pella products, and when seeing the pamphlet of the front doors, it was a no brainer. Multiple choices to choose from to really be able to capture what we wanted.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
A positive was seeing the front entry door from the outside. With the vivid blue contrasting with the brick on our home, it was absolutely gorgeous! The negative is also memorable, because the garage entry door was definitely not what we wanted. Due to that, the trim wasn't placed (which was understandable). It was also surprising to hear it would take another 4 weeks to get the original door we had ordered. How is not possible to have extras of doors in the Pella warehouse?! We take pride in our home, and the fact we paid over $12k in product, we were disappointed we couldn't completely love the new look.
Robert D.
Savage, MN
11/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Good reputation, reasonable pricing
Justin H.
Hamel, MN
11/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Convenience.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I thought Bob did a great job.
Dave H.
Saint Paul, MN
11/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
To match other windows
Kathy L.
Saint Paul, MN
11/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I liked the presentation from the sales representative and I know you have a good reputation and sell a good product.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
My experience with everyone I dealt with, the salesperson, scheduler and the installers was very nice and everything went very smoothly.
Bob A.
Stillwater, MN
11/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Simplicity of installing Pella windows to replace Pella windows.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Good people to work with, especially the installation team.
Shirley V.
Saint Paul, MN
11/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Qtuaility of the windows . Salesperson was good and new alot about windows etc.
Sandy H.
Andover, MN
11/04/2018
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
We appreciated that our sales person gave us suggestions. We had a 4 panel window in our family room and he suggested a picture window with 2 side panels. We love it! In our master bathroom he suggested a slider window instead of a crank out window. He said it would be less expensive and it also gives us better air flow. We are very happy with that window as well. On 3 of the windows he suggested slide in inserts rather than replacing the inside portion of the window. Windows are very costly but we felt that the salesperson was helpful in trying to keep the cost down. He was our first estimate but after talking with him we felt very good our going with Pella windows so we cancelled our other estimates. Our salesperson was Jon.
Greg & Denise B.
New Richmond, WI
10/30/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Frustrated with another brand's failure and cost. I researched all available brands in my area and Pella fit my needs as well as fitting my budget. The warranty sealed the deal for me, I respect a brand that is willing to stand behind their product.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
We had a positive experience throughout the process.
Frank A.
Eden Prairie, MN
10/29/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Best!
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
All positive and waiting for replacement screen door.
Nancy F.
Savage, MN
10/29/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Recommended by a family friend
James A.
Minneapolis, MN
10/23/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
price and quality of product
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
installation team was great - both very nice guys and easy to communicate with - both status of project and features and treatment going forward.
Dan & Vicky K.
Saint Paul, MN
10/22/2018
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
This is not the first Pella product we have had installed. The salesman, Dan, is excellent. Can't be beat. The installation team of Chris is the only team we will have. Chris and Dan are always the perfect example of courteous and professionalism.
Jonathon R.
Minneapolis, MN
10/18/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We thought Pella had competitive pricing and high quality. Ultimately we were not as impressed as we expected.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Negative - We were unable to view an exact sample of the windows we were considering purchasing when the marketing/sales person came to our house. This led to misunderstandings about expectations. Furthermore, the sales person said 'touch-ups of paint and or wood-work around the edge of the windows would be addressed as part of the install'. This did not happen as the install team said that is outside the scope of their work. Expectations were not set appropriately from the beginning. Last but not least, the panel that was fabricated by the shop ultimately had a defect and had to be replaced after install. Positive - the install team was excellent, timely, courteous, and we appreciated their hard work.
Clarence O.
Saint Paul, MN
10/15/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
My son loves them
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
John M.
Saint Paul, MN
10/08/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
there was the promotion in the paper and we needed the work done.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Very efficient.
Gary W.
Farmington, MN
10/08/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
It was a wild choice. But I will never go elsewhere. The product is perfect. The installers were very skilled and professional.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Casey and Craig. They installed this behemoth and did an AMAZING job. So excellent.
Tom & Jen G.
Forest Lake, MN
10/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Recommendation from neighbors who had Pella windows installed.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation team was excellent. Arrived on time, got all my windows installed in a day. Cleaned up the space better than it was before they arrived. Great job!
Stan V.
Shakopee, MN
10/02/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
reputation
Fred J.
Roberts, WI
10/01/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Looked like one of the best
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
No
Denise E.
North Branch, MN
9/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Warranty
Lauren S.
Saint Paul, MN
9/16/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I liked how Pella owned the end to end process and they were very feasible compared to other companies and products that offered similar end to end and product warranty.
Pamela H.
Maple Plain, MN
9/10/2018
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Amazing installation crew and the sales representative was most helped and informed.
Susan K.
Saint Paul, MN
9/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The quality of the product and the high level of customer service.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
It was all very positive.
Stephen & Cecilia H.
Saint Paul, MN
9/10/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality product good reputation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Overall very professional
Erin R.
Minneapolis, MN
9/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Shades in the glass and reputation
Ahmed R.
Minneapolis, MN
9/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Good quality and reasonable price
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
For the team to finish all 9 windows in one day ... that was really awesome. Yet, some of the edges still have sharp residue that I was hoping that they removed before leaving.
Rebecca L.
Balsam Lake, WI
9/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I was told I would not receive a bill until after installation was complete but we received bill before and had to make a payment before installation
Bob G.
Minneapolis, MN
8/28/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Pella is the Best
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Great installers, good sales person
Pat L.
Minneapolis, MN
8/27/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We own a turn of the century home, being able to visually match up with existing windows & woodwork was a primary concern. Based on my research, no one came as close as Pella. In addition, I am an employee of Cardinal Glass, so the company we did business with needed to use Cardinal Glass IG units.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Our salesman was not the most responsive when I had questions/concerns. He ultimately got everything handled, but I do wish the communication would have been smoother.
Chris G.
Minneapolis, MN
8/27/2018
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation team was very courteous and respectful....excellent!
Amy S.
Saint Paul, MN
8/27/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
quality of windows
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Negative - installation.
Harlow F.
Eden Prairie, MN
8/23/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I felt the quality and features were the best value for the money
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
no
Sharon B.
Minneapolis, MN
8/20/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We wanted to ensure quality and warranty to invest in our homes beauty and insulation
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Each conversation with each of the team members created a sense of personal connection to our experience and satisfaction
Paulette M.
Minneapolis, MN
8/19/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
The product, the consultant Chris and most of all the quality of the installer Casey.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The dedication of the installer Casey.
Carla M.
Minneapolis, MN
8/18/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Past family experience
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Positive: sales and installation Negative: scheduling. This was a hassle. To be honest it reflect similar service from other contractors this summer but I think it's a chance for a place you can differentiate from the competitors if you can fix and make it easier for your customer to get a date set for installation.
Mike B.
Chaska, MN
8/15/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality product, competitive price and short installation window
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Got to know Brian the installer
Phil L.
Minneapolis, MN
8/15/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Reputation for quality, and very attractive financing.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation crew was really nice to deal with. Their attitude and skill showed pride in the job. In addition, they were easy to have in and around the house.
Kathy S.
Minneapolis, MN
8/14/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
no
Mike D.
Maple Grove, MN
8/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Past Pella products that I have; excellent sales rep; good pricing and payment options!
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Positive: Sale Rep Negative: Installer needed to spend time (which they didn't) explaining new window/screen replacement etc. Had to have some work redone before installer left (i.e. sloppy putty job on one of the window installs). Overall good installer!
Chris S.
Saint Paul, MN
8/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Best value in comparison to Anderson Renewal and Marvin.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
My storm door being tossed without any discussion about their intent to not replace.
Renee S.
Minnetonka, MN
8/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Recommended by a friend
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
It was all smooth and we're very happy.
Rebecca W.
Burnsville, MN
8/07/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We started with Pella 15 years ago and have slowly replaced all the original windows in our 1963-built house. We decided to stay with Pella and not shop elsewhere because of our initial positive purchase experience with Tracy.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Personalized customer service was excellent with our first purchase. The installation of our basement windows about 4 years ago wasn't as smooth but the issues were resolved and the product quality has proven to be excellent. We didn?t even look at another company when it was time to replace our last window.
Pat P.
Saint Paul, MN
8/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We chose Pella to match other existing windows in our house.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Everything went smoothly.
Adam & Elyse B.
Saint Paul, MN
8/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Scheduling timeline. Pella's was the shortest. Less pressure by the sales rep during the quoting process. Best payment options available.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I was very impressed with the installation crew. Very clean. Extremely hard working.
Deb H.
Chisago City, MN
8/06/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Zero financing for five years was a big plus.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Installers did good work itself but left a lot of touch up that we had to do...lots of scratches under the window frame that required paint, one of our bedroom doors must have gotten gouged when they carried the window in, they left LOTS of black fingerprints on the wall along the frames.
Gary L.
Saint Michael, MN
8/05/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Price and product more reasonable
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Excellent install team, salesman honest and sincere, third man on install team removed all smudges before they left, could tell all were proud of their product
Shameka G.
Forest Lake, MN
8/04/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Professionalism
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
I am literally going to have to have the door uninstalled to pass city inspection. I love my door but the installers drop the ball and as I was told should have known they must be inspected prior to completion
Alan T.
Maple Grove, MN
7/31/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
We trust that Pella will still be around in 20+ years. The windows we purchased 15 years ago from Traco is now an out of business company.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installers were professional, experienced, confident and careful. They even made sure our front door lower stoop covered an eyesore area! They went above and beyond!! Thanks Casey and _____. (Sorry, can't remember the other name.)
Bill T.
Farmington, MN
7/30/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I know Pella has a great reputation. It may not be the most inexpensive out there, but quality is definitely near the top.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The install crew. About the best you could ask for.
Allysa M.
Albertville, MN
7/30/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Warranty and quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Our installers were absolutely wonderful. They went above and beyond to help us out.
Joe V.
Minneapolis, MN
7/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Eric K.
Eden Prairie, MN
7/26/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Price, financing, and after visiting the pella store we didn't see a huge quality difference from the higher priced alternatives.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installation team was fantastic.
David S.
Young America, MN
7/20/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Recommended by friends and family
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The Installlation team were excellent. Great workmanship, great manners, excellent service and clean up
Stephanie K.
Saint Paul, MN
7/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
-familiar with the quality of Pella -I like vinyl -To match the rest of my house windows -cranberry wrap!
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The sales rep from the home show was not great--didn't give me options about purchasing, only talked about the 350 series, not the 250 series; quoted me $8600-9400 for 5 windows. The regional rep Matt was AWESOME!!! Options were given and explanation of the product--he was GREAT! And the quote was much more reasonable and on par. Ultimately why I went with Pella again. I did have other quotes and window options. I also appreciate Michelle and her customer service.
Carl & Mary S.
Chaska, MN
7/17/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I had past experience with purchasing these windows.
Gail D.
Saint Paul, MN
7/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
VARIETY OF PRODUCTS AVAILABLE AND QUALITY
Mike M.
Saint Paul, MN
7/13/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Quality
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installers did a great job and our sales rep. was informed and helpful talking us through our options
Terese F.
Inver Grove Heights, MN
7/12/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
I had been considering new windows for several years. Just this hear they got bad enough, and I saved up enough funds to be able to finance these wants. I looked around a lot and went to many home shows before I decided. I feel it was the best cost/value ration, and I particularly like the full service and guarantee.
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
The installers I had were awesome! I forgot their names, but I want them back again for the final front windows.
Ryan & Nicole R.
Minneapolis, MN
7/11/2018
Why did you choose Pella?
Salesman did a good job and was prompt
Were there any memorable aspects of your experience?
Mostly the sound being louder and neighbors dog and plane waking my kid up after that wasn't an issue before. Not the best